Press Releases

New York City Teamsters Reelect Executive Board

NEW YORK, NY – The delegates of Teamsters Joint Council 16 reelected its executive board at a meeting this morning. The delegates, who are elected leaders of the 27 Teamster locals in New York City, Long Island, and the Hudson Valley, reelected George Miranda as President and the six other executive board officers unanimously to a new four-year term.

Teamsters Joint Council 16 and its locals represent 120,000 workers in a wide range of industries, including trucking and deliveries, sanitation, warehousing, manufacturing, school buses, public sector, film and television, construction materials, airlines, and parking.

“As one of New York’s largest and strongest unions, Teamsters Joint Council 16 will continue to fight for good jobs and social justice for all New Yorkers,” said George Miranda. “More than ever, we need a strong labor movement to defend working families and organize in changing industries. I would like to congratulate our whole leadership team and thank New York’s Teamsters for their trust in us.”

In addition to Miranda, Harry Nespoli of Teamsters Local 831, the Uniformed Sanitationmen’s Association, was reelected as Vice President. Demos Demopoulos of Teamsters Local 553 was reelected as Secretary-Treasurer. Gregory Floyd of Teamsters Local 237 was reelected as Recording Secretary. Thomas Gesualdi of Local 282, Lou Calemine of Local 295, and Matthew Bruccoleri of Local 272 were reelected as Trustees.

Under the leadership of Miranda and the executive board, Joint Council 16 has built strong alliances with environmental and community groups to campaign for a sustainable sanitation system, clean ports, and other progressive priorities. Recent victories include a new commercial waste zone system to reform the private sanitation industry and strong new contracts for school bus, heating oil, airline, and concrete industry Teamsters.