Press Releases

NYC Teamsters Endorsements in City Council Races

Teamsters Joint Council 16 represents 120,000 New York workers

Today, Teamsters Joint Council 16 announced its endorsements for the New York City Council. As one of New York City’s biggest unions, the Teamsters plan to mobilize members and resources in competitive races to elect progressive candidates who will fight for working families.

“Over the past four years, New York City has taken major steps to protect workers and advance our progressive ideals, but there is still much work to be done,” said George Miranda, President of Teamsters Joint Council 16. “These are the candidates who will keep up the fight for working families. The Teamsters plan to put boots on the ground in the most competitive districts to get these candidates elected.”

The union endorsed candidates in five open seats, including Carlina Rivera in District 2, Diana Ayala in District 8, Marjorie Velazquez in District 13, Francisco Moya in District 21, and Justin Brannan in District 43.

The Teamsters also endorsed Marvin Holland in District 9 and Hettie Powell in District 28.

The union has an active political and public policy program. Legislative and policy accomplishments in the current City Council and Mayoral term include the creation of a commercial waste zone policy, land use changes to support manufacturing, labor peace at the South Brooklyn Marine Terminal, protection of the horse carriage industry, infrastructure funding at Hunts Point Market, pay equity for school safety agents, and the creation of truck routes for 50 foot trucks.

Teamsters Joint Council 16 represents 120,000 workers in the greater New York area, in transportation, warehousing, public sector, deliveries, school buses, airlines, construction, parking, and many other industries.

Full list of Teamster Endorsements in New York City Council Races

  • Carlina Rivera (Council District 2)
  • Corey Johnson (Council District 3)
  • Benjamin Kallos (Council District 5)
  • Helen Rosenthal (Council District 6)
  • Mark Levine (Council District 7)
  • Diana Ayala (Council District 8)
  • Marvin Holland (Council District 9)
  • Ydanis Rodriguez (Council District 10)
  • Andrew Cohen (Council District 11)
  • Andrew King (Council District 12)
  • Marjorie Velazquez (Council District 13)
  • Ritchie Torres (Council District 15)
  • Vanessa Gibson (Council District 16)
  • Rafael Salamanca (Council District 17)
  • Paul Vallone (Council District 19)
  • Peter Koo (Council District 20)
  • Francisco Moya (Council District 21)
  • Costa Constantinides (Council District 22)
  • Barry Grodenchik (Council District 23)
  • Rory Lancman (Council District 24)
  • Daniel Dromm (Council District 25)
  • Jimmy Van Bramer (Council District 26)
  • Daneek Miller (Council District 27)
  • Hettie Powell (Council District 28)
  • Karen Koslowitz (Council District 29)
  • Elizabeth Crowley (Council District 30)
  • Donovan Richards (Council District 31)
  • Erich Ulrich (Council District 32)
  • Stephen Levin (Council District 33)
  • Antonio Reynoso (Council District 34)
  • Robert Cornegy (Council District 36)
  • Rafael Espinal (Council District 37)
  • Carlos Menchaca (Council District 38)
  • Brad Lander (Council District 39)
  • Mathieu Eugene (Council District 40)
  • Inez Barron (Council District 42)
  • Justin Brannan (Council District 43)
  • Jumaane Williams (Council District 45)
  • Alan Maisel (Council District 46)
  • Mark Treyger (Council District 47)
  • Deborah Rose (Council District 49)
  • Steven Matteo (Council District 50)
  • Joseph Borelli (Council District 51)