Press Releases

Teamsters Joint Council 16 Announces State Senate Endorsements

Teamsters Joint Council 16, which represents 120,000 workers in Downstate New York, announced its endorsements for the New York State Senate today.

“More than ever, we need elected officials in Albany who will fight for working New Yorkers and protect us from a hostile federal government,” said George Miranda, President of Teamsters Joint Council 16. “This is about electing a State Senate that will act to defend immigrants, tenants, workers, and our communities.”

In two Long Island races that could determine control of the State Senate, the Teamsters are endorsing two Democrats — both immigrants and women — who are running for seats currently held by Republicans. The union is backing Monica Martinez, a former school teacher and current county legislator, who is running for the District 3 seat in Suffolk county. The Teamsters are also backing Anna Kaplan, a North Hempstead Town Councilwoman, who is running in District 7.

The Teamsters represent a diverse swath of New York workers, including truck drivers, warehouse workers, sanitation workers, manufacturers, parking attendants, and public sector employees.

The full list of endorsements is below.

District 3 – Monica Martinez
District 4 – Phil Boyle
District 5 – James Gaughran
District 7 – Anna Kaplan
District 8 – John Brooks
District 9 – Todd Kaminsky
District 10 – James Sanders
District 12 – Michael Gianaris
District 13 – Jose Peralta
District 14 – Leroy Comrie
District 15 – Joe Addabbo
District 16 – Toby Ann Stavisky
District 18 – Martin Malave Dilan
District 19 – Roxanne Persaud
District 20 – Jesse Hamilton
District 21 – Kevin Parker
District 23 – Diane Savino
District 24 – Andrew Lanza
District 25 – Velmanette Montgomery
District 26 – Brian Kavanagh
District 27 – Brad Hoylman
District 28 – Liz Kreuger
District 29 – Jose Serrano
District 30 – Brian Benjamin
District 31 – Marisol Alcantara